72hrs with Windows Vista

24 08 2008

Well it’s been 72 hrs since I fired up my “new” (refurb) desktop with Vistra Home Premium and truthfully, it has been as bad as I thought. Of course, I thought the worst after finding virtually no one liking it and of course the clever and not that far off Apple commerical.

My new box is a HP Slimline S3300T (Intel Dual Core Intel 1.8Ghz/2GB RAM/500GB HD/Vista Home) for less than $300. Hard to beat that! I was prepared in the event the Vista was as bad as people say and I thought with a XP system disks standing by.

My core programs and current peripherals installed with little problems.

  • Adobe Illustrator 9
  • Adobe Photoshop 6
  • Brother HL-1440 laser printer
  • Canon Lide 60 scanner (utility required update)
  • Canon ip6600 printer
  • Microsoft Office 2000

Files migrated fine as far as I can tell. They’re backed up onto an external drive regularly, so that wasn’t too difficult.

  • Photos: 60,000/107GB
  • Music: 2280/19.6GB

Visually, the GUI’s really nice looking (ala Mac) and with a new iMac in the house. Easy to compare.

So far the most annoying thing is the pop-up when you’re moving/deleting/whatever. Again made popuar by the below Apple commerical. XP did something similar but it was generally only one warning. Vista is 2-3 on most things. Haven’t decide yet to disable it or not just yet.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment